The Apeejay Stya Group organised the 9th Indian Obstetrics and Gynaecology (IOG) Dr. Stya Paul Awards 2022 at Hotel Le Meridien, Windsor Place, New Delhi on 18 December 2022. The Awards have been instituted to recognise outstanding contributory articles in the field of Gynaecology and Obstetrics. This highly-anticipated event has become an annual fixture of the research and medical community.


This endeavour has been undertaken by Apeejay Stya Group, which selflessly publishes the IOG Journal, as a service to the medical fraternity to provide a platform for the practicing & budding gynaecologists to improve their knowledge about recent practices and their clinical outcomes. The IOG Journal publishes original research articles, review articles, case reports, letters to the editor, book reviews and relevant scientific information in the field of obstetrics & gynaecology and infertility.

The highlight of the event was an illuminating oration lecture by Dr. Camran Nezhat, Clinical Professor of OBS & GYNAE, University of California San Francisco School of Medicine; Former Chair Association of Adjunct Clinical Faculty, Deputy Chief of the Department of OBS & GYNAE and Adjunct Clinical Professor of Surgery and OBS & GYNAE at Stanford University Medical School. He addressed the audience on the topic ''How to democratise and standardise surgeries with special reference to Minimal Invasive Gynaecology'.

The presentation focused on “Minimal Invasive Gynaecology” which is one of the booming specialities in the medical field. With the advancement of science and technology, as well as the improvement of people's living standards, the demand for differentiated medical care, treatment approaches, and quality of life is gradually increasing. People are concerned not only with the treatment's outcomes, but also with their comfort, privacy, and recovery time. Thus, these techniques have made significant progress in recent years in terms of less pain, shorter hospital stays and fewer complications than traditional techniques.

Mrs. Sushma Paul Berlia, Chairperson & President, Apeejay Stya and Svran Group, said, “How can surgery be standardised and as a result hopefully and gradually democratised is one of the most important questions. In the future, techniques of the best surgeons in each field will be combined to render standardised procedures for different pathologies, which will assure that the highest quality of care is available to all. To do this, we must make better use of surgical technologies, which include digital surgery and subsequent new developments.”

The IOG Dr. Stya Paul Awards 2022 were presented in three distinct categories Best Original Study, Best Review Article and Best Case Report.

Dr. Swati Tomar, Research Officer, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, AIIMS, New Delhi, with other co-authors was honoured in the category of 'Best Original Study' for 'Burch colposuspension versus transobturator vaginal tape procedure for the treatment of stress urinary incontinence in women'.

Dr. Neerja Goel, Professor and HOD, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, SMS&R, Sharda University, Greater Noida, was awarded in the category of 'Best Review Article' for 'The impact of nutrition on COVID-19 infected pregnant women A review'.

Dr. Alpana Singh, Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, UCMS and GTB, Delhi, with other co-authors was honoured in the category of 'Best Case Report' for 'Rare and deceptive cause of hypertension in pregnancy: A case report'.

Followed by the announcement of the awards, a presentation series was conducted by the respective doctors.

Apeejay Stya Group also instituted as many as five new awards in the realms of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. For these new awards, an independent esteemed Jury for selecting the candidate was constituted.

Dr. Hrishikesh Pai, Director of the Bloom IVF Group, Mumbai, was honored 'Lifetime Achievement' Award.

Dr. Jaydeep Tank, Consultant, Ashwini Maternity and Surgical Hospital, Center for Endoscopy and IVF, Mumbai, was awarded in the category of 'Distinguished Chair'.

Dr. Mala Raj, Founder & Managing Director, Firm Hospitals, Chennai, was awarded in the category of 'Excellence in Minimally Invasive Gynaecology'.

Dr. Meeta Singh, Director, Consultant, OBGYN, Menopause, Tanvir Hospital, Hyderabad, was awarded in the category of 'Excellence in Menopause Research'.

Dr. Narendra Malhotra, Managing Director Global Rainbow Healthcare (Ujala-Cygnus-Rainbow Hospital), Agra, was awarded in the category of 'Excellence in High-risk Pregnancy Management'.

The event concluded with the Vote of thanks by Mr. Aditya Berlia, Co-Promoter, Apeejay Stya and Svran Group. The event proved to be a great networking platform for doctors and practitioners wherein they shared their knowledge & experiences with each other as well as with other delegates present on the occasion.